News: Father John Misty & Jonathan Wilson to release fundraising EPs tomorrow

Credit: Emma Tillman

Both Father John Misty and Jonathan Wilson have announced news of fundraising covers EPs, available tomorrow 3rd July through Bandcamp’s “No Revenue Share Day”.

Father John Misty’s Anthem +3 is a digital EP featuring covers of Leonard Cohen, Yusuf/Cat Stevens, and Link Wray, that will be available tomorrow. Anthem +3 will then see a wider release through all other DSPs on July 14th. The EP was recorded a few weeks ago with long-time collaborator and producer Jonathan Wilson at Wilson’s Fivestar Studios in Topanga, California. The additional three covers were recorded over the past few years by Wilson (“One of Us Cannot Be Wrong,” “Trouble”), and Haxan Cloak (“Fallin’ Rain”) and have all been previously released. 

Proceeds from Anthem +3 will benefit both CARE Action and Ground Game LA. CARE is a leading international humanitarian organization fighting global poverty that places special focus on working alongside poor women who, equipped with the proper resources, can assist whole families and entire communities escape poverty through improved basic education, prevention of the spread of HIV, increased access to clean water and sanitation, expanded economic opportunities and the protection of natural resources. Ground Game LA is a community-driven organization dedicated to building power for the residents of LA. Since 2017 Ground Game LA has been connecting with Angelenos about housing, immigration, civic participation, homelessness, criminal justice reform, militarization, and more.

Anthem + 3 artwork and tracklist:

1. Anthem (Leonard Cohen)
2. Fallin’ Rain (Link Wray)
3. Trouble (Yusuf / Cat Stevens)
4. One Of Us Cannot Be Wrong (Leonard Cohen)

Jonathan Wilson’s covers EP is titled The Way I Feel & More. Of the EP Wilson says: “So I’ve put together an EP… It’s a collection of covers I love: Bill Fay, Gordon Lightfoot, Moby Grape, and The Four Tops. I’m so happy to share it with y’all. It’s available exclusively on Bandcamp to benefit MusiCares Covid-19 Fund. MusiCares is an organization that my fellow musicians lean on and need now more than ever. When it comes to raising awareness and money for MusiCares I always think of my friend and someone I love recording with – the great Gerald Johnson, the bass master from CSNY and the Steve Miller Band.  When he had issues with his health as a lifetime session musician, MusiCares was there and made it possible for my friend to get the proper treatment he deserves. Long live MusiCares, and each download of my EP will help their noble cause in our musical community.”

The Way I Feel & More artwork and tracklist:

1. The Way I Feel (Gordon Lightfoot)
2. Reach Out I’ll Be There (The Four Tops)
3. I Am Not Willing (Moby Grape)
4. Be Not So Fearful (Bill Fay)

A picture containing chain, table, box, lit Description automatically generated