News: BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards 2014


The BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards will return on February 19th, 2014 at London’s Royal Albert Hall,
and the nominations have now been revealed!

On the night, Bellowhead, The Fisherman’s Friends and Suzanne Vega, to name a few,
will be performing at the awards, which are set to celebrate their 15th anniversary

There will also be a new award this year – the Radio 2 Folk Awards Hall of Fame,
and the first entrant to be inducted is Cecil Sharp

Mark Radcliffe, presenter of the Radio 2 Folk Show, said…

I’m absolutely thrilled to be hosting the Folk Awards again this year, particularly on the event’s 15th anniversary and in the very grand Royal Albert Hall. Folk music is in rude health, and we’re all relishing the chance to make a big fuss about the genre’s vibrancy, diversity and sheer quality

The nominees are as follows…

Folk Singer of the Year

Bella Hardy
Fay Hield
Lisa Knapp
Lucy Ward

Best Duo

Ross Ainslie & Jarlath Henderson
Josienne Clarke & Ben Walker
Catrin Finch & Seckou Keita
Phillip Henry & Hannah Martin

Musician of the Year

Aidan O’Rourke
Will Pound
Martin Simpson
Sam Sweeney

Best Group

The Full English
Melrose Quartet

Best Album

Child Ballads – Anaïs Mitchell & Jefferson Hamer
The Full English – The Full English
Hidden Seam – Lisa Knapp
Vagrant Stanzas – Martin Simpson
Won’t Be Long Now – Linda Thompson

Horizon Award

Olivia Chaney
Josienne Clarke & Ben Walker
Greg Russell & Ciaran Algar
Georgia Ruth

Best Original Song

Love’s For Babies and Fools – Linda Thompson
None the Wiser – Chris Wood
Swimming in the Longest River – Olivia Chaney
Two Ravens – Lisa Knapp

Best Traditional Track

Codi Angor – Georgia Ruth
Les Bras de Mer – Catrin Finch & Seckou Keita
Mary Macdonald’s – Rant
Willie of Winsbury – Anaïs Mitchell & Jefferson Hamer

BBC Radio 2 Young Folk Award

Hattie Briggs
Gentlemen of Few
Granny’s Attic
The Mischa Macpherson Trio

Let us know your favourites in the comments box!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.