New Release & Video: Rozi Plain – Painted The Room

Photo Credit: Yoshino Shigihara

Rozi Plain returns with new album Prize on 13 January on Memphis Industries. Following on from her three previous singles of the new album, ‘Agreeing For Two’, ‘Prove Your Good’ and ‘Help’, comes ‘Painted The Room’, one of the stand out tracks from Prize.

Rozi says of ‘Painted The Room’: “I think this is a sort of a celebration song dedicated to scummy situations retreating – relief when you are able to have the clarity and freedom to just trot off! It changed so much from how it started and took a couple of hilarious and surprising-to-me new turns. Then we just deleted the guitar. Then I went to Danalogue’s (from The Comet Is Coming and Soccer96) studio and he topped it up with some of his trade mark good ear good vibe”

Accompanying video was filmed by Ed Tucker at the Total Refreshment Centre and edited by Yoshino Shigihara and Rozi.

“I wasn’t totally thinking about making a video for this song, I just wanted to make some sort of compelling visual so I high jacked an Alabaster dePlume recording session at The Total Refreshment Centre two days before Christmas – we had a staff party! and asked my friend Ed to film us playing with cards (Stena Line). This song is about freeing yourself up so I guess I just wanted the visual to feel not too precious. I really like how the split screen distracts you just enough to focus in the right way and notice coincidences and cosmic moments in the two images playing together. It also feels very good to capture a moment with sweet friends in a place so full of heart like The Total Refreshment Centre”.

On Prize, Rozi has assembled her widest cast of players to create an album that not only preserves the intimacy of her signature guitar-and-vocal sound, but accentuates these moments of calm, and explosive emotion, midst a soaring, collective spirit. From the blissful vocals of This Is The Kit’s Kate Stables on ‘Agreeing For Two’, to the call-and-response vocals on ‘Prove Your Good’; from the expansive instrumentation and ornately co-ordinated arrangements of ‘Help’ and ‘Sore’, to the sublime synth celebration explorations of ‘Painted The Room’, and the woozy jazz-inflected ‘Spot Thirteen’; there’s a sense of togetherness, and the very process of coming together, that permeates throughout the album’s ten tracks.

Rozi Plain and her band will be playing live around the UK and Europe in 2023 as follows including a batch of stripped back and solo instores….

Fri 13th Jan – Brighton, Resident (6.30pm)
Sat 14th Jan – Letchworth, David’s Music (1pm)
Sat 14th Jan – Cambridge, Lost in Vinyl (6pm)
Sun 15th Jan – Oxford, Truck (1pm)
Sun 15th Jan – Bristol, Friendly Records (7pm)
Mon 16th Jan – Marlborough. Sound Knowledge (6pm)
Tue 17th Jan – Kingston-Upon-Thames, Banquet (6pm)
Thu 19th Jan – London, Rough Trade East (8pm)
Fri 20th Jan – Lille, Besides Records (6.30pm)
Sat 21st Jan – Paris, Ballades Sonores (7pm)

FULL BAND SHOWS

Sat 28th Jan – Chester, St. Marys
Sun 29th Jan – Glasgow Celtic Connections, Drygate Theatre
Tue 31st Jan – York, The Crescent
Wed 1st Feb – Hull, Adelphi
Thu 2nd Feb – Cardiff, Clwb Ifor Bach
Fri 3rd Feb – Falmouth, The Cornish Bank
Sat 4th Feb – Totnes, St. Marys
Fri 10th Feb – Lille, Le Bazar St So
Sat 11th Feb – Paris, Le Hasard Ludique
Sun 12th Feb –Saint-Nazaire, Le VIP
Tue 14th Feb – Rennes, Des Pies Chicaillent
Wed 15th Feb – Bordeaux, Blonde Venus
Thu 17th Feb – Baden, OOAM Festival
Tue 28th Feb – Manchester, YES Pink Room
Wed 1st Mar – Dublin, Workmans Club
Thu 2nd Mar – Bangor, NI, The Court House
Fri 3rd Mar – Waterford, Phil Grimes
Sat 4th Mar – Ballydehob, Levis Corner House
Sun 5th Mar – Kilkenny, Cleere’s
Tue 7th Mar – Leeds, Brudenell Social Club
Wed 8th Mar – Edinburgh, Pianodrome
Thu 9th Mar – Newcastle, Star & Shadow
Fri 10th Mar – Cambridge, Portland Arms
Sat 11th Mar – Margate, Olby’s
Sun 12th Mar – Brighton, Hope & Ruin
Tue 14th Mar – London, Studio 9294
25th Mar – Bristol, Ritual Union Festival
10th June – Ipswich, Brighten the Corners Festival
28-30th Jul – Deershed Festival, North Yorkshire