New Release & Video: Margo Price – Letting Me Down

Margo Price has announced her postponed new album That’s How Rumors Get Started will now be released on 10th July. To coincide with the announcement, Margo has also revealed her new track ‘Letting Me Down’.

“Everybody’s lonely, oh babe, just look around”: the belting opening chorus line of ‘Letting Me Down’ wasn’t meant to be a premonition when she recorded it – with Sturgill Simpson co-producing and contributing backing vocals – at Hollywood’s legendary EastWest Studios. But since postponing the release of the song and her album, those lyrics have taken on a new truth.

“Letting Me Down” comes accompanied by a music video directed by Kimberly Stuckwisch, who drove an RV from Los Angeles to Nashville to film in Margo’s home and an abandoned hospital where she performs a stunning dance sequence choreographed by her sister Kylie.

Written by Margo and Jeremy Ivey to a pair of former high school friends, ‘Letting Me Down’ is about two teenage runaways trying to escape a workaday life.

Now, rescheduled and resolute, Margo has announced a new July 10th release date for That’s How Rumors Get Started. On the album’s delay and the emotional decisions she’s faced these past three months, Margo says: “Take me back to the day I started trying to paint my masterpiece so I could warn myself of what was ahead. Time has rearranged, it has slowed down, it has manipulated things like it always does…the words to some of these songs have changed meaning, they now carry heavier weight. I’ve seen the streets set ablaze, the sky set on fire. I’ve been manic, heartbroken for the world, heartbroken for the country, heartbroken from being heartbroken again and again. This album is a postcard of a landscape of a moment in time. It’s not political but maybe it will provide an escape or relief to someone who needs it. Sending love to everyone out there and hope I see you down the highway.”

Despite the change of plans for That’s How Rumors Get Started, Margo Price has remained prolific during her time in self-isolation. Last month, she surprise-released Perfectly Imperfect at The Ryman, a live album benefitting the MusiCares COVID-19 Relief Fund, recorded during her sold-out, three-night residency at the Nashville auditorium.

That’s How Rumors Get Started was produced by Sturgill Simpson, and co-produced by Margo Price and David Ferguson. The ten new, original songs were primarily recorded at EastWest Studios (Pet Sounds, “9 to 5”), during the week Margo received her Best New Artist GRAMMY nomination, in the middle of her pregnancy with daughter Ramona. The historic band heard on each of the tracks includes guitarist Matt Sweeney (Adele, Iggy Pop), bassist Pino Palladino (D’Angelo, John Mayer), drummer James Gadson (Aretha Franklin, Marvin Gaye), and keyboardist Benmont Tench (Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers). Background vocals were added by Simpson on “Letting Me Down,” and the Nashville Friends Gospel Choir on “What Happened To Our Love?” and “Hey Child.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.