New Release & Video: Holly Macve – Eye Of The Storm

Photo Credit: Maximillian Kinghorn-Mills

With her new album Not The Girl due for release 14th May, and having previously tracks ‘Be My Friend’ and ‘Daddy’s Gone’, Holly Macve now shares an evocative video for new single “Eye Of The Storm”.

Of the track Macve says: “’This was one of the first songs I wrote for this record, before the pandemic. It’s strange because the meaning of this song has evolved and become more relevant throughout this last troubled year. I was reading The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath and there was a line about a tornado that I thought was beautiful and evocative. It was a moment of inspiration for me and the song was written within a few hours. I returned to it day later and wasn’t quite sure where it had come from, that’s one of the best feelings, as a writer. It’s a sort of comment on society and how we’re made to feel like nothing is ever enough, the grass is always greener… and then love prevails. It’s us against the world in the eye of the storm.”

“My vision was big,” says Brighton-based singer Macve of the road to her second album. “I knew I wanted to do something more expansive than my first record.” Following on from the rootsy saloon-noir conviction of her 2017 debut, Golden Eagle, Holly sets out for deeper, often darker territory with a firm, unhurried sense of direction on her second record.

For Macve, the combination of influences such as Nancy & Lee with time spent touring helped widen her horizons. “I wasn’t afraid of trying new things, and I wanted to explore sounds and develop my skills in production, composing and engineering. When I wrote the songs on Golden Eagle I had never toured, it was just me in my bedroom playing acoustic guitar. I then got the chance to tour the world with a band and sing with a symphony orchestra [with Mercury Rev in 2017]. My little world grew and I realised there was so much for me to learn about how I can use my skills as a singer and writer. I didn’t want to limit myself – I wanted to push my boundaries.”

Tracklist as follows….

  1. Bird
  2. Eye Of The Storm
  3. Be My Friend
  4. You Can Do Better
  5. Daddy’s Gone
  6. Little, Lonely Heart
  7. Sweet Marie
  8. Who Am I
  9. Not The Girl
  10. Behind The Flowers
  11. Lonely Road


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.