New Release & Video: Cass McCombs – The Great Pixley Train Robbery

Cass McCombs’ ninth full-length album, Tip Of The Sphere will be released 8th February. Following the album’s lead single, Sleeping Volcanoes and follow up track Estrella, McCombs has today shared the video for new single The Great Pixley Train Robbery, which acts as an Old West-tinged tale that describes scenes of a violent train robbery, the greed for gold, and claims of insanity

Based on a newspaper article McCombs uncovered from the 1800’s, the track shows off his pure creativity and apt for vivid storytelling – take a watch of the video below…

McCombs took a different approach for recording Tip Of The Sphere than previous endeavours, instead recording swiftly and with a sense of purpose at Shahzad Ismaily’s Figure 8 studios in Brooklyn. As a result, a confidence emerged that heightens McComb’s sound – the rock songs have more fervour and the ballads are more beautiful; the sounds of jazz and Latin music creep in through the back window. Engineered by Sam Owens (aka Sam Evian), Tip Of The Sphere features the core band of McCombs (guitar, vocals), Dan Horne (co-producer, bass), Otto Hauser (drums) and Frank LoCrasto (piano, organ, and more), plus a range of guests

Tour dates as follows…

25 May – Madrid, ES @ Tomavistas Festival
28 May – Prague, CZ @ MeetFactory o.p.s
29 May – Berlin, DE @ Frannz Club
30 May – Copenhagen, DK @ ALICE
31 May – Hamburg, DE @ Nochtspeicher
1 Jun – Gent, BE @ DOKbox
3 Jun – Amsterdam, NL @ Paradiso Noord
4 Jun – Paris, FR @ La Maroquinerie
6 Jun – London @ EartH


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.