New Release & Video: Cass McCombs – Absentee

Photo Credit: Silvia Grav

Cass McCombs’ ninth full-length album, Tip Of The Sphere, will be released tomorrow on February 8th

Following the album’s lead single, Sleeping Volcanoes and follow up tracks Estrella and The Great Pixley Train Robbery, McCombs has now shared the video for the final single to be taken from the album, Absentee

In the video, Cass McCombs ruminates on ancestral memories of British, colonialist absentee landlords during the Irish Potato Famine, on longing, hunger and untended places in the heart. Cass plays multiple characters in a play created with cast shadows, masks, puppets and analog visual effects created by Lydia Greer and Caryl Kientz of Facing West Shadow Theatre

Take a watch below…

McCombs took a different approach for recording Tip Of The Sphere than previous endeavours, instead recording swiftly and with a sense of purpose at Shahzad Ismaily’s Figure 8 studios in Brooklyn. As a result, a confidence emerged that heightens McComb’s sound – the rock songs have more fervour and the ballads are more beautiful; the sounds of jazz and Latin music creep in through the back window. Engineered by Sam Owens (aka Sam Evian), Tip of the Sphere features the core band of McCombs (guitar, vocals), Dan Horne (co-producer, bass), Otto Hauser (drums) and Frank LoCrasto (piano, organ, and more), plus a range of guests

Upcoming tour dates as follows…

25 May – Madrid, ES @ Tomavistas Festival
28 May – Prague, CZ @ MeetFactory o.p.s
29 May – Berlin, DE @ Frannz Club
30 May – Copenhagen, DK @ ALICE
31 May – Hamburg, DE @ Nochtspeicher
1 Jun – Gent, BE @ DOKbox
3 Jun – Amsterdam, NL @ Paradiso Noord
4 Jun – Paris, FR @ La Maroquinerie
6 Jun – London @ EartH
7 Jun – Helsinki, FI @ Sideways
30 Aug – 2 Sep – Larmer Tree Gardens @ End of the Road Festival


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.