New Release & Tour: Woman’s Hour – Luke

Photo Credit: Matilda Hill-Jenkins

Kendal band Woman’s Hour have released Luke, the second single from their upcoming sophomore record Ephyra which is being released next week on 15th February

Due to deteriorating mental health, Woman’s Hour decided to break-up shortly before the completion of Ephyra. The break-up represented so many different things: relief, sadness, grief. But ultimately, a year after separating they felt a collective drive and desire to finish the album and draw a line in the sand. Fiona describes it as “a kind of rebirthing. An opportunity to reflect on what happened and embrace what we achieved”

Luke was inspired by Wordsworth’s poem Michael and specifically about losing a son to the temptations of a corrupt world. The band wrote the song between Kendal, London and a writing trip to the easternmost tip of Spain. Lyrically the song juxtaposes a pastoral landscape against a extraterrestrial, existential dreamscape in search of a place to call home. “Luke, do you notice that we’re turning on an axis in space, orbiting the sun and it’s bigger than us. We’re only made of atoms, can we collide in love, I only want to see you and be near you”

Take a listen below…

Having recently announced a London headline show at The Dome on 22nd March, the band have now announced the rest of their UK tour in support of Ephyra which begins in their hometown of Kendal on 11th March…

March 11 – Fell Bar, Kendal
13 – The New Adelphi, Hull
14 – Gullivers, Manchester
15 – Headrow House, Leeds
19 – The Crofters Rights, Bristol
20 – The Prince Albert, Brighton
22 – Tufnell Park Dome, London


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.