New Release & Tour: Steve Gunn – Fulton

Photo Credit: Stephanie Nicole Smith

Steve Gunn has released new single ‘Fulton’, taken from his forthcoming new album Other You, released August 27th on Matador.

Gunn says of the song: “One night the air went dead on 1010 WINS, the local AM news station in NYC I find myself listening to from time to time. Everything stopped for a moment, or at least the radio signal did. The long silence came as a surprise, a gift.

In addition, Gunn has announced a three-night live residency at LA’s Gold Diggers ahead between September 9th and 11th. The shows will be the first opportunity to watch Gunn performing songs from the new album with a full band, and will feature guests to be announced. This week, Gunn will embark on a run of East Coast dates with William Tyler, around their appearance on July 27 at Newport Folk Festival’s “Folk On” event.

Other You was recorded during two visits to Los Angeles in late 2020 and early 2021, the album was made with veteran producer Rob Schnapf (Beck, Elliott Smith, Cass McCombs, Kurt Vile) at his Mant Studios alongside musician and longtime friend and collaborator Justin Tripp, whose credits include appearances on Gunn’s Time Off and Way Out Weather.

The relocation from his native Brooklyn was in a way more than geographical – the surroundings, warm climate and tight-knit studio team encouraged Gunn to tap into new approaches, techniques and emotional reservoirs, casting off established notions, habits and hangups.

He is assisted by contributions come from friends and fellow artists including Julianna Barwick, Mary Lattimore, Bridget St. John, Jeff Parker, Bill MacKay, Ben Bertrand, drummer Ryan Sawyer (TV On The Radio, Thurston Moore, Gang Gang Dance), and others.

Tour dates as follows…

Thu July 22 – Brooklyn, NY @ The Bell House^
Fri July 23 – Livingston Manor, NY @ Catskill Brewery^
Sat July 24 – Burlington, VT @ Backside 405^
Sun July 25 – Peaks Island, ME @ Lion’s Club^
Mon July 26 – Keene, NH @ Nova Arts^
Tue July 27 – Newport, RI @ Folk On^
Thu July 29 – New Haven, CT @ Cafe Nine^
Thu September 9 – Los Angeles, CA @ Gold Diggers
Fri September 10 – Los Angeles, CA @ Gold Diggers
Sat September 11 – Los Angeles, CA @ Gold Diggers
Sat September 25 – Accord, NY @ Woodsist Festival
Fri October 15 – Ghent, Belgium @ Vooruit
Thu December 2 – Chicago, IL @ Thalia Hall #
Fri December 3 – Minneapolis, MN @ Cedar Cultural Center #
Sat December 4 – Milwaukee, WI @ Cactus Club #
Sun December 5 – Lakeside, MI @ Lakeside Inn #
Tue December 7 – Nashville, TN @ Third Man #
Wed December 8 – Atlanta, GA @ Terminal West #
Thu December 9 – Charlotte, NC @ Recover Brands #
Fri December 10 – Asheville, NC @ The Grey Eagle Tavern #
Sat December 11 – Carrboro, NC @ Cat’s Cradle #
Sun December 12 – Baltimore, MD @ Creative Alliance #
Tue December 14 – Cambridge, MA @ The Sinclair #
Wed December 15 – Holyoke, MA @ Gateway City Arts #
Thu December 16 – Kingston, NY @ Tubby’s #
Fri December 17 – Ardmore, PA @ Ardmore Music Hall #
Sat December 18 – New York, NY @ Bowery Ballroom #
Fri December 3 – Minneapolis, MN @ Cedar Cultural Center #

^ w/ William Tyler
# w/ Jeff Parker

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.