New Release & Tour: Rozi Plain – PRIZE / Agreeing For Two

Photo Credit: Yoshino Shigihara

Rozi Plain returns with new album PRIZE on 13 January 2023 on Memphis Industries. Out today is the first single ‘Agreeing for Two’ featuring contemporary jazz titan Alabaster dePlume on saxophone and Kate Stables of This Is The Kit on backing vocals and in the video.

Rozi says of ‘Agreeing for Two’: “This song was started when I spent a week on the Isle of Eigg writing new music. Mainly it’s thinking about how easy it can be to unknowingly make decisions on behalf of other people, thinking you might know what’s best or right for a situation where as maybe it’s just what was easiest for you… I love the saxophone line that Alabaster Deplume added – brings a bit of his trademark heart and hopefulness.”

Over the course of four albums, Rozi Plain’s hypnotic, gently askew songs have steadily sauntered their way from her birthplace of Winchester, reverberated through the bustling Bristol DIY scene, to where they now emanate from London’s creative epicentre. Acquiring a worldliness that’s reflected in her travels as a touring musician, each consecutive release has broached new sonic territory, whilst retaining a home-grown intimacy and a familial warmth of spirit. On PRIZE, her upcoming fifth long-player, due for release on 13th January 2023, Rozi’s unique, heart-felt approach continues to prevail, marking her as one of our most innovative and engaging songwriters.

On PRIZE, Rozi has assembled her widest cast of players to create an album that not only preserves the intimacy of her signature guitar-and-vocal sound, but accentuates these moments of calm, and explosive emotion, midst a soaring, collective spirit. From the blissful vocals of This Is The Kit’s Kate Stables on ‘Agreeing For Two’, to the call-and response vocals on ‘Prove Your Good’; from the expansive instrumentation and ornately co-ordinated arrangements of ‘Help’ and ‘Sore’, to the sublime synth celebration explorations of ‘Painted The Room’, and the woozy jazz-inflected ‘Spot Thirteen’; there’s a sense of togetherness, and the very process of coming together, that permeates throughout the album’s ten tracks.

Rozi Plain and her band will be playing live around the UK in 2023 as follows:

Wed 14th Sept 22 – London, Third Man, SOLD OUT
Thu 19th Jan 23 – London, Rough Trade East Instore
Sat 28th Jan 23 – Chester, St. Marys
Tue 31st Jan 23 – York, The Crescent
Thu 2nd Feb 23 – Cardiff, Clwb Ifor Bach
Fri 3rd Feb 23 – Falmouth, The Cornish Bank
Sat 4th Feb 23 – Totnes, St. Marys
Tue 28th Feb 23 – Manchester, YES Pink Room
Wed 1st Mar 23 – Dublin, Workmans Club
Thu 2nd Mar 23 – Bangor, NI, The Court House
Fri 3rd Mar 23 – Waterford, Phil Grimes
Sat 4th Mar 23 – Ballydehob, Levis Corner House
Sun 5th Mar 23 – Kilkenny, Cleere’s
Tue 7th Mar 23 – Leeds, Brudenell Social Club
Thu 9th Mar 23 – Newcastle, Star & Shadow
Fri 10th Mar 23 – Cambridge, Portland Arms
Sat 11th Mar 23 – Margate, Olby’s
Sun 12th Mar 23 – Brighton, Hope & Ruin
Tue 14th Mar 23 – London, Studio 9294

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.