New Release: Sufjan Stevens – The Ascension

The Ascension, the eighth solo studio album from singer, songwriter and composer Sufjan Stevens – and the long awaited follow-up to 2015’s Carrie & Lowell – is set for release September 25th.

‘America’, the album’s 12-minute debut single, will also been unveiled the Friday 3rd July, alongside a new video.

In recent years, Sufjan has been keeping busy, including his work with Nico Muhly, Bryce Dessner and James McAlister on 2017’s Planetarium, the Greatest Gift mixtape, a track about ice-skater Tonya Harding, his acclaimed score for Justin Peck’s ballet The Decalogue, and Sufjan’s collaboration with stepfather Lowell Brams, in the form of Aporia earlier this year.

Tracklisting as follows…

  1. Make Me An Offer I Cannot Refuse (5:19)
  2. Run Away With Me (4:07)
  3. Video Game (4:16)
  4. Lamentations (3:42)
  5. Tell Me You Love Me (4:22)
  6. Die Happy (5:47)
  7. Ativan (6:32)
  8. Ursa Major (3:43)
  9. Landslide (5:04)
  10. Gilgamesh (3:50)
  11. Death Star (4:04)
  12. Goodbye To All That (3:48)
  13. Sugar (7:37)
  14. The Ascension (5:56)
  15. America (12:30)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.