New Release: Sturgill Simpson – The Ballad of Dood and Juanita

Sturgill Simpson is set to release The Ballad of Dood and Juanita on August 20th. This is the Grammy-winning singer/songwriter’s third album in twelve months and his most ambitious project to date.

“I just wanted to write a story—not a collection of songs that tell a story, but an actual story, front to back,” says Simpson. He describes the concept album as a “rollercoaster ride through all the styles of traditional country and bluegrass and mountain music that I love, including gospel and a cappella.” Written and recorded in less than a week, the new album features the same ace musicians who played on last year’s Cuttin’ Grass albums and is what Simpson calls “a simple tale of either redemption or revenge.”

Simpson is currently on location filming his role in Martin Scorsese’s upcoming movie ‘Killers of the Flower Moon’.

Tracklisting as follows…

  1. Prologue
  2. Ol’ Dood (part I)
  3. One In the Saddle, One On the Ground
  4. Shamrock
  5. Played Out
  6. Sam
  7. Juanita (featuring Willie Nelson)
  8. Go In Peace
  9. Epilogue
  10. Ol’ Dood (part II)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.