New Release: Siv Jakobsen – Gardening / Romain’s Place

Photo credit: Jørgen Nordby

Norwegian singer-songwriter Siv Jakobsen has announced her third album Gardening, will be released on 20th January 2023 via The Nordic Mellow and shares new single “Romain’s Place”.

Throughout her career, Siv Jakobsen has lived much of her life on the road, in that time supporting and touring with acts including Benjamin Francis Leftwich, Damien Jurado, José González, The Lumineers and Susanne Sundfør. New single “Romain’s Place” was written in the midst of one such tour, inadvertently re-opening a door she’d previously thought firmly closed.

A starkly beautiful examination of a previous relationship haunting one’s subconscious, Jakobsen’s precise and affecting lyrics (“For every time you screamed my way / I’ve kept a bruise / All down along my spine”) are sung with a delicacy she’s now renowned for, atop a lush backdrop harps, trumpets, soaring string arrangements and Jakobsen’s intricate finger picked guitar work.

Speaking more on the lyrical inspiration behind “Romain’s Place”, Jakobsen said: “Right before the pandemic hit, I was on a small tour and found myself back in a city I used to call home. I hadn’t been back since I left it (and the relationship I had there) behind a good few years ago. I felt quite shocked with how my body and mind reacted to being back, and realised quickly that I had some emotional unpacking to do. I was staying with my friend Romain at the time, and for me my time in his apartment encapsulates this realisation and the start of me dealing with these ghosts from my past that had laid dormant for a while. I was so overwhelmed at the time that it felt as if I was going crazy. I really did feel haunted, as if I had jumped into a time-machine and was somehow back in the past.”

Produced by Hans Olav Settem and Simen Mitlid, mixed by Zach Hanson (Bon Iver, Hand Habits, Sylvan Esso, The Tallest Man On Earth), and featuring instrumental contributions from Emma Gatrill (This Is The Kit, Nick Cave, Lucy Rose) and Marcus Hamblett (Laura Marling, James Holden, The Staves), new album Gardening follows Jakobsen’s 2020 album A Temporary Soothing which was nominated for a Norwegian Grammy (Spelleman).

Inspired by a vast pool of stillness and desolation in the 18 months following the release of A Temporary Soothing, Jakobsen found herself reflecting on the past; drawn to a chapter of her life that she had previously tackled fully and closed the door on. Reconnecting with her homeland and reflecting on her life so far, the results of this deep introspection were shaped into songs which formed the basis of new album ‘Gardening’.

Recorded in a cabin just north of Oslo with friends Simen Mitlid and Hans Olav Settem, Jakobsen elaborated further on the new project’s inspiration: “Gardening tackles a particular relationship from my past, and its effect on me in the past, present and future. When writing it I felt I was doing a continuous and elaborate form of emotional gardening, whilst in real life I was tending to my modest but lovely garden in my home in Oslo. I found great pleasure and comfort in the physical task of gardening, weeding and tending to my modest patio of flowers and edible plants, and their colours and metaphors seeped into my writing. It is a record I am immensely proud of, and one that I hope can make others who have been through similar things feel seen and less alone”.

Upcoming live dates as follows…


27 Sep – Tivoliredenburg Club9, Utrecht (Netherlands)
29 Sep – The Slaughtered Lamb, London
8 Oct – Tenement Trail, Glasgow


7 Feb – Prince Albert, Brighton
8 Feb – The Louisiana, Bristol
10 Feb – Hyde Park Book Club, Leeds
11 Feb – Gullivers, Manchester
12 Feb – Hare & Hounds, Birmingham
14 Feb – die wohngemeinschaft, Cologne (Germany)
15 Feb – L’Archipel, Paris (France)
16 Feb – Botanique, Brussels (Belgium)
18 Feb – Upstairs Paradiso, Amsterdam (Netherlands)
21 Feb – Privatclub, Berlin (Germany)
22 Feb – Mojo Jazz Café, Hamburg (Germany)
25 Feb – Rust, Copenhagen (Denmark)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.