New Release: Novo Amor – I Make Sparks

Photo Credit: Daniel Alexander Harris

Novo Amor has today released a new track entitled ‘I Make Sparks’. The track originally featured on physical copies of his debut album Birthplace sold in Japan, and has now been made available on digital streaming platforms for the first time

Speaking about his reasoning for recording this track, Novo Amor himself shares: “‘I Make Sparks’ is a cover of a song by Irish artist Katie Kim, from her album ‘Salt’. I fell in love with her bedroom demo a few years ago and have been looking for an opportunity to record my own version, to show my appreciation for Katie’s music. I found time after I’d finished my debut album, ‘Birthplace’, and it became a bonus track on the Japanese release. I’m really happy it’s getting a release worldwide now”

Take a listen below…

The digital release of ‘I Make Sparks’ follows a flurry of recent releases from Novo Amor. 2019 started with the release of a 2-part short film in collaboration with Novo Amor’s long-time producer-director duo Jorik Dozy and Sil van der Woerd (aka Sil & Jorik). The group’s collaborations have always sought to highlight an important issue, with Novo Amor’s music providing a naturally cinematic soundtrack to the emotive scenes. For this latest project, visuals were used to shine a light on climate change and, in particular, the devastating impact of air pollution

Then in March, Novo Amor teamed up with Gia Margaret to release a special double A-side single. Entitled ‘No Fun’ and ‘Lucky For You’, the two tracks were written in 2018 after the pair met whilst Gia Margaret was supporting Novo Amor on his North American headline tour. Acoustic in nature, the two tracks epitomise the sweetness and fragility found in both musicians’ solo work. Melodically sparse, the tracks are an intimate moment in time

Novo Amor’s busy year continues as he embarks on a European headline tour throughout May before then returning to the UK to headline Bushstock Festival in London on Saturday 15th June…

07 May – Lisboa Ao Vivo Lisboa, Portugal
08 May – Sound Isidro 19 Festival Madrid, Spain
09 May – Loco Club València, Spain
10 May – Razzmatazz Barcelona, Spain
12 May – Ohibo Milan, Italy
14 May – Bogen F Zürich, Switzerland
15 May – Le Romandie Lausanne, Switzerland
16 May – L’ Epicerie Moderne Feyzin Lyon, France
18 May – Le Fuzz’yon La Roche-sur-yon, France
19 May – Les Abattoirs Cognac, France
21 May – Krakatoa Bordeaux, France
22 May – L’Astrolabe Orléans, France
23 May – Trix Antwerpen, Belgium
25 May – Rotown Rotterdam, Netherlands
26 May – TivoliVredenburg Utrecht, Netherlands
12 Jun – Parkteatret Scene Oslo, Norway
15 Jun – Bushstock Festival London, UK