New Release: Mountain Man – Hot Knife

Photo credit: Shervin Lainez

Mountain Man—the trio of Amelia Meath, Alexandra Sauser-Monnig, and Molly Sarlé—have released a cover of “Hot Knife,” from Fiona Apple’s 2012 album, The Idler Wheel.

The song is the latest release in Mountain Man’s series of cover singles, which also includes the band’s versions of the English folk song “Greensleeves,” Neil Young’s “Through My Sails,” the Shaker hymn “Simple Gifts,” Kacey Musgraves’ “Slow Burn,” Wilco’s “You and I,” John Denver’s “Take Me Home, Country Roads,” and the Irving Berlin holiday classic “White Christmas.”

Of this new release, the band says: “If we followed Questlove’s advice and made gratitude lists before we went to bed every night, Fiona Apple would be at the top every time. She tells the truth like no one else does. Thank you Fiona Apple. We love you.”

Mountain Man’s last album, Magic Ship, was released in 2018. Following their 2010 debut, Made the Harbor, the three musicians went in different directions for several years before they all ended up in North Carolina, spending time together as old friends, and finally reuniting as a band, and recording Magic Ship at Meath’s home studio in Durham.

In addition to Meath’s Grammy-nominated work with Sylvan Esso, Sauser-Monnig and Sarlé have recorded their own critically-acclaimed solo projects. Sauser-Monnig released Dawnbreaker, her debut album under the moniker Daughter of Swords, via Bella Union in 2019.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.