New Release: M. Ward – You’ve Changed

M. Ward has shared ‘You’ve Changed’, his take on the classic ballad originally by Billie Holiday.

“The music for ‘You’ve Changed’ was written in the early 40s by pianist/composer Carl Fischer – a Californian of Cherokee descent,” M. Ward explains of the song’s origins. “He was born into poverty but his parents raised enough money to provide some music lessons and he wrote this song in his late 20s with lyricist Bill Carey. Fischer died in 1954, a few years before Billie Holiday recorded her version of his music for Lady In Satin. The descending chromatic chord progression reminds me of songs Antonio Jobim and Brian Wilson would write a few decades later. To arrange the music for solo guitar I changed ‘You’ve Changed’ to EADGBbD. #cherokeenation”

‘You’ve Changed’ will be featured on Think of Spring, Ward’s new album of Billie Holiday covers that will be released on 11th December. The conceit of Think of Spring is to filter the songs and strings from Billie Holiday’s Lady In Satin through a single acoustic guitar using various alternate tunings and a minimal amount of textures and studio manipulation; most of the songs were recorded on an analog Tascam four-track.

The title Think of Spring comes from a poem written in 1924 by Jane Brown-Thompson that eventually became “I Get Along Without You Very Well” in 1938 – the first song on the record. Proceeds from Think of Spring will benefit Inner-City Arts & DonorsChoose via PLUS1 for Black Lives Fund.

On the album’s 11th December release day, M. Ward will be hosting a Livestream performance at 9 PM ET (2 AM GMT). The set will feature a full band performance that will be filmed at Portland, OR’s Aladdin Theatre and will be available for 72 hours after the initial Livestream.

Tracklisting as follows…

  1. I Get Along Without You Very Well
  2. For Heaven’s Sake
  3. It’s Easy To Remember
  4. You’ve Changed
  5. Violets For Your Furs
  6. For All We Know
  7. But Beautiful
  8. All The Way
  9. I’m A Fool To Want You
  10. I’ll Be Around
  11. You Don’t Know What Love Is


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.