New Release: Lucy Dacus – My Mother & I

Ahead of both Taurus Season and US Mother’s Day in May, Lucy Dacus shares devastating new song ‘My Mother & I’

Following her Valentine’s Day cover of ‘La Vie En Rose’, this is the first original composition of her ongoing 2019 holiday song series, which will also include singles tied to US Independence Day, Springsteen’s Birthday, Halloween, Christmas, and New Year’s

‘My Mother & I’ is a lullaby of sorts, about “babies born in the month of May” that are “down to earth” and “see eye to eye” and “dig our feet in,” but at its core, it’s a brutally frank exploration of body image and the emotional form it takes when passed down generationally

Take a listen below…

In Lucy’s words: “Being adopted has encouraged me to consider what mothers pass on through blood and body, and what they impart in the way of socialization and context. We — daughters, and all children — easily inherit the shame and fear of our mothers, but also the pride, self-assurance, and lessons of love. This song focuses on body image and the distinction between the body and the soul, which I can hardly claim to have clarity about to this day. I also reflect on traits my mother and I share as Taurean women- how we are steadfast but headstrong, empathetic but grounded, and dedicated to finding and giving reliable love and comfort”

Dacus recently announced a run of summer UK and European tour dates, including a London headline show at EartH on June 5th, alongside shows in Leeds, Nottingham, Edinburgh and Manchester. She is also confirmed for festival slots including Primavera Sound, Roskilde and Best Kept Secret among others. A full list of current dates can be found below…

Sat May 4 – Charlotte, NC @ Visulite Theater
Sun May 5 – Atlanta, GA @ Shaky Knees Festival
Mon May 6 – Orlando, FL @ The Social
Tues May 7 – Tampa, FL @ The Crowbar
Thurs May 9 – New Orleans, LA @ One Eyed Jacks
Sat May 11- Chattanooga, TN @ Songbirds North
Sun May 12 – Asheville, NC @ The Grey Eagle
Fri May 24 – Hollerich, LU @ Den Atelier
Sat May 25 – Berlin, DE @ Badehaus
Mon May 27 – Wiesbaden, DE @ Schlachthof
Tues May 28 – Munich, DE @ Backstage Werk
Wed May 29 – Milan, IT @ Alcatraz
Fri May 31 – Barcelona, ES @ Primavera Sound Festival
Sat June 1 – Hilvarenbeek, NL @ Best Kept Secret Festival
Tues June 4 – Paris, FR @ Boule Noire
Wed June 5 – London, UK @ EartH
Thurs June 6 – Leeds, UK @ Belgrave Music Hall
Sat June 8 – Porto, PT @ Optimus Primavera Sound
Mon June 10 – Nottingham, UK @ Bodega
Tues June 11 – Edinburgh, UK @ Voodoo Rooms
Wed June 12 – Manchester, UK @ YES
Fri June 14 – Stavanger, NO @ Mablisfestivalen
Sat June 15 – Stockholm, SE @ STHLM Americana
Sun June 16 – Gothenburg, SE @ Oceanen
Mon June 17 – Malmo, SE @ Plan B
Wed June 19 – Kortrijk, BE @ De Kreun
Fri June 28 – Richmond, VA @ Friday Cheers
Tues July 2 – Dortmund, DE @ FZW
Wed July 3 – Hamburg, DE @ MarX
Thurs July 4 – Roskilde, DE @ Roskilde Festival
Sat July 6 – Prague, CZ @ Chapeau Rouge
Sun July 7 – Vienna, AT @ Flex Cafe
Mon July 8 – Dornbirn, AT @ Conrad Sohm
Wed July 10 – Lausanne, CH @ Festival de la Cite
Sat July 27 – Newport, RI @ Newport Folk Festival
Sun July 28 – Philadelphia, PA @ XPoNential Festival
Tues July 30 – Austin, TX @ Austin City Limits TV Taping

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.