New Release: Lucy Dacus – Last Christmas

Ringing in the festive season, Lucy Dacus has released a cover of Wham’s ‘Last Christmas’.

Following the release of acclaimed holiday-themed singles ‘La Vie En Rose’, ‘My Mother & I’, ‘Forever Half Mast’, ‘Dancing In The Dark’, and ‘In The Air Tonight’ throughout the year, ‘Last Christmas’ is the sixth installment taken from Dacus’ 2019 EP that is out November 8th on Matador Records.

The EP will also feature a yet unreleased original tribute to New Year’s titled ‘Fools Gold’. A special bundle set of the 2019 EP and a limited edition, clear vinyl pressing of Dacus’s breakthrough 2018 album Historian will be available through the Matador Records webstore.

Sped-up, amped-up and delivered through a megaphone to chugging abandon, Dacus’ reworking imbues the jumper-sporting classic with a spontaneous energy that turns it playfully on its head. “I don’t really like Christmas,” says Dacus. “In the studio, we listened to the original of ‘Last Christmas’ and didn’t talk about an arrangement. I just told everyone to play it angry. This is what happened first take. It actually came out pretty fun, maybe a tad psychotic.”

Take a listen below…

Fresh off a series of sold-out West Coast shows including two LA dates, Dacus’ North American run continues apace with a handful of Midwest dates before heading to Mexico City for Corona Capita followed by further East Coast dates. A full list of tour dates can be found below.

2019 – Tracklisting:

  1. Fool’s Gold
  2. La Vie En Rose
  3. My Mother & I
  4. Forever Half Mast
  5. Dancing In The Dark
  6. In The Air Tonight
  7. Last Christmas

Upcoming tour dates as follows:

Wed October 9 – Louisville, KY @ Headliner’s
Thurs October 10 – Chicago, IL @ Park West
Fri October 11 – Madison, WI @ Majestic
Sat October 12 – Minneapolis, MN @ Cedar Cultural Center
Mon October 14 – Omaha, NE @ Slowdown
Wed October 16 Bozeman, MT @ The Rialto
Thurs October 17 – Missoula, MT @ Top Hat Lounge
Fri October 18 – Boise, ID @ The Olympic
Sat October 19 – Spokane, WA @ The Bartlett
Mon October 21 – Vancouver, BC @ RIO Theatre
Tues October 22 – Seattle, WA @ Neumo’s
Wed October 23 – Portland, OR @ Aladdin Theater
Fri October 25 – San Francisco, CA @ August Hall
Sat October 26 – Los Angeles, CA @ Teragram Theater
Sun October 27 Los Angeles, CA @ Moroccan Lounge – SOLD OUT
Mon October 28 – San Diego, CA @ Belly Up
Tues October 29 – Phoenix, AZ @ Crescent Ballroom
Thurs October 31 – NM @ Meow Wolf
Fri November 1 – Englewood, CO @ Gothic Theatre
Mon November 4 – St Louis, MO @ Delmar Hall
Tues November 5 – Cincinnati, OH @ Woodward Theatre
Wed November 6 – Grand Rapids, MI @ Covenant Fine Arts Center
Sun November 17 – Mexico City, MEX @ Festival Corona Capital
Sat November 30 – Charlottesville, VA @ Jefferson Theater
Wed December 4 – Boston, MA @ Royale
Thurs December 5 – New York, NY @ Webster Hall
Sat December 7 – Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club
Fri January 17 – South Walton, FLA @ 30A Songwriters Festival
Sat January 18 – South Walton, FLA @ 30A Songwriters Festival
Sun January 19 – South Walton, FLA @ 30A Songwriters Festival

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.