New Release: Lanterns On The Lake – The Realist

Following their Mercury Prize nomination, Lanterns On The Lake have announced news of a new 5-track EP, The Realist, released 11th December.

The EP includes four new tracks as well as a reworked stripped-back arrangement of the single “Baddies”. The band have shared the EP’s title track which can be heard below…

Of the track and EP vocalist Hazel Wilde says: “The Realist is a song about being a dreamer, clinging to a vision and following your heart – even when that path can seem deluded to others. It was one of the songs that didn’t make it onto the album Spook The Herd as it didn’t fit sonically or narratively. It felt like it came from another place. So we began putting together this EP. We wanted to sculpt an intimate “headphones” record. One for the introverts and dreamers, the ones that still find beauty and magic in things. Recording some of the songs over lockdown in our homes helped in creating that world.”

Lanterns On The Lake recently announced news of a special reduced-capacity live appearance at the Sage Gateshead on Saturday 7th November, performing their Spook The Herd album in full. Tickets sold out on the first day but passes are available to watch the concert via live stream.

Live tours are still of course on hold and difficult to predict for next year, but if lady luck shines, Lanterns On The Lake will be on tour in February and March 2021…

Monday 1st February – Glasgow – King Tuts
Tuesday 2nd February – Leeds – Brudenell Social Club
Wednesday 3rd February – Manchester – Gorilla
Saturday 6th February – Birmingham – The Actress & Bishop
Sunday 7th February – Brighton – Patterns
Monday 8th February – Guildford – Boilerroom
Tuesday 9th February – Norwich – Waterfront Studio
Wednesday 10th February – London – EartH
Thursday 18th February – Southampton – The Brook
Friday 19th February – Exeter – Phoenix
Saturday 20th February – Corsham – Pound Arts Centre
Sunday 21st February – Bristol – Thekla
Monday 22nd February – Nottingham – Rescue Rooms
Wednesday 24th February – Cambridge – Storey’s Field Centre
Thursday 25th February – Hebden Bridge – Trades Club
Saturday 27th February – Bury – The MET
Sunday 28th February – Stockton – Georgian Theatre
Friday 26th March – Newcastle – Boiler Shop

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.