New Release: Joy Williams – Front Porch

Photo Credit: Andy Barron

It has been unveiled that Joy Williams’ new solo album, Front Porch, will be released May 3rd via Sensibility/Thirty Tigers. The album features 12 songs including the title track, which was recently released as a new single…

Produced by Kenneth Pattengale of The Milk Carton Kids and engineered by Matt Ross-Spang, Front Porch represents a new chapter in Williams’ career, who recorded the album in Nashville during the pregnancy of her second child. She reflects, “There is an energy that is very creative in having a baby. It gives a sense of urgency on top of all the creative energy”

“So much of this is about coming home,” says Williams. “Whether to a physical place or to yourself. The lines on my face, I can see them more clearly now. But a lot of them are laugh lines. This record feels like breathing more deeply into who I am. Come what may”

Joy Williams has released four solo albums and four EPs since her self-titled debut in 2001. She was half of The Civil Wars from 2009 until 2014, after which she released her solo LP, 2015’s VENUS

In celebration of the release, Joy Williams will embark on an extensive US headline tour kicking off in Phoenix on February 25th, with UK dates to be announced shortly. Watch this space!

Tracklisting as follows…

  1. Canary
  2. Front Porch
  3. When Does a Heart Move On
  4. All I Need
  5. The Trouble With Wanting
  6. No Place Like You
  7. One and Only
  8. When Creation Was Young
  9. Preacher’s Daughter
  10. Hotel St. Cecilia
  11. Be With You
  12. Look How Far We’ve Come


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.