New Release: Josh Ritter – Fever Breaks / Old Black Magic

Fever Breaks, the tenth studio album from singer, songwriter and performer Josh Ritter, will be released April 26th

Produced by Grammy Award-winning musician Jason Isbell, the 10-song record was recorded at Nashville’s historic RCA Studio A and features Isbell’s band, the 400 Unit. In advance of the release, the album’s first single, Old Black Magic, can be heard below…

Fever Breaks was engineered by Matt Ross-Spang and features contributions from Isbell (guitar and vocals) and his band the 400 Unit, which includes Derry Deborja (piano, organ and Hohner accordion), Chad Gamble (drums and percussion), Jimbo Hart (fender electric, ukulele and upright bass), Sadler Vaden (electric guitar, acoustic guitar and 12 string acoustic guitar) and Amanda Shires (violin and vocals)

Of the album, Ritter shared with Rolling Stone, “The songs are very reflective of the times in which they were written,” he explains. “As we started coming together and playing, the songs that felt like they were gonna work really jumped out as obvious. From there on, after we recorded in August we had this really nice time to stop and listen and let the songs marinate a little bit. In that time, the world has just become even crazier. There’s a lot of the record that feels reflective of the moment it was in”

Tracklist as follows…

  1. Ground Don’t Want Me
  2. Old Black Magic
  3. On The Water
  4. I Still Love You (Now and Then)
  5. The Torch Committee
  6. Silverblade
  7. All Some Kind of Dream
  8. Losing Battles
  9. A New Man
  10. Blazing Highway Home


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.