New Release: Hiss Golden Messenger – School Daze: A Fundraiser for Durham Public Schools Students

Hiss Golden Messenger is set to release his second live album of 2020 to benefit Durham Public Schools. This Friday, the North Carolina artist is releasing School Daze: A Fundraiser for Durham Public Schools Students exclusively via the Hiss Golden Messenge Bandcamp, with more digital services to follow on October 9th.

School Daze features 15 tracks captured from a handful of shows on Hiss Golden Messenger’s late-2019 tour supporting Terms of Surrender. It features no repeats from March’s still-crisp live album Forward, Children, which was also surprise-released as a fundraiser for Durham Public Schools (DPS) students and has raised over $25,000 to date to address food insecurity. School Daze and Forward, Children are intended as sister releases, companions, classmates.

M.C. Taylor states: “I say this often from the stage: I have public education in my blood. Both of my parents, my sister, and my wife are all public educators. My kids go to public schools in Durham. My entire life, I’ve watched the ways that public education has changed the lives of the people involved with it, both students and teachers. It’s safe to say that I wouldn’t do what I do now without the love and support of public schoolteachers. So I feel it’s my duty to give back.”

Proceeds from School Daze will be earmarked for the Durham Public Schools Foundation’s Accelerating Digital Equity initiative, a community-wide effort to ensure every single DPS student experiences high-quality digital and remote instruction.

School Daze: A Fundraiser for Durham Public Schools Students tracklist:

01. O Little Light
02. Jenny of the Roses
03. Rock Holy
04. Lost Out in the Darkness
05. Bright Direction (You’re a Dark Star Now)
06. Down at the Uptown
07. Like a Mirror Loves a Hammer
08. Happy Day (Sister My Sister)
09. Lucia
10. Everybody Loves Somebody
11. Mahogany Dread
12. Cracked Windshield
13. I Am the Song
14. I’m a Raven (Shake Children)