New Release: Fenne Lily – Hypochondriac

Photo Credit - Nicole Loucaides

23-year-old Bristol musician Fenne Lily, has today presented her debut single for new label, Dead Oceans.

Take a listen to “Hypochondriac”, below…

In the world of her music, Fenne’s inveterate vulnerability transforms what-ifs into worse case scenarios, hypotheticals into heartache. This heart-on-sleeve ethos spawned her early songwriting and colored the emotional intensity of her already confessional work. Now, she’s facing this tendency towards emergency head on.

“Hypochondriac” reflects on this struggle and her own role in solving it with urgent honesty. Over breezy guitar, Fenne’s voice is soft, but strong. “The song’s theme was realised immediately; pressure to feel enough but not too much in a time of hyper connectivity, plus a personal reminder to be accountable for and have agency over the part of me that gravitates towards meltdown. It’s the first in a collection of tracks addressing myself as both the cause of and solution to my anxieties, as well as a shift in attention from predominantly relationship-based writing to a more self-reflective dialogue.”

Although a new signing for Dead Oceans, ‘Hypochondriac’ may not be people’s first introduction to Fenne; her self-released debut album – 2018’s On Hold – has stuck with many.

Next up, Fenne will support Lucy Dacus* on a UK/EU tour, with performances at Green Man and End of The Road Festivals following. Fenne’s full list of dates can be found below…

Sat. March 28 – Bristol, UK @ Rough Trade
Thu. April 16 – Dijonfranche-comt, FR @ Péniche Cancale *
Sat. April 18 – Lausanne, SW @ Le Romandie *
Tue. April 21 – Vienne, AT @ B72 *
Thu. April 23 – Prague, CZ @ Chapeau Rouge *
Sat. April 25 – Berlin, DE @ Roter Salon *
Mon. April 27 – Hamburg, DE @ Hebebühne *
Tue. April 28 – Dortmund, DE @ TYDE STUDIOS *
Wed. April 29 – Utrecht, NL @ ACU *
Fri. May 1 – London, UK @ Union Chapel *
Mon. May 4 – Glasgow, UK @ Centre for Contemporary Arts *
Tue. May 5 – Belfast, UK @ Limelight *
Wed. May 6 – Dublin, IE @ Button Factory *
Thu. Aug. 20 – Sun. Aug. 23 – Crickhowell, UK @ Green Man Festival
Thu. Sept. 3 – Sun. Sept. 6 – Salisbury, UK @ End of the Road Festival

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.