New Release: Erin Durant – Highway Blue / Islands

Photo Credit: Sarrah Danziger

Erin Durant has unveiled the second single from her forthcoming album Islands, with “Highway Blue”

With the accompaniment of folk luminary Kath Bloom’s harmonica highlighting Durant’s piano, they create a plaintive yet lively song tracing the lines of what remains…

Erin Durant’s second album, Islands (released June 21st) is an odyssey of sorts, with songs that blur the line between reality and fiction. Produced by TV On The Radio’s Kyp Malone, the eight songs deliver clarity within mystery and adventure in their uncluttered vignettes

Born and raised in New Orleans, Durant has been based in New York for over a decade, all the while keeping track of the intricacies of life surrounding her and diligently developing her craft as a songwriter and performer. Lyrically, she composes most songs on piano, songs that tend to unfold structurally like a memory or a scene from a movie. As a performer, Durant usually transports a 232-pound ¾ size piano to venues without one. To hear her play the instrument makes plain her case for the extra effort. Her music is rooted in an ongoing dialogue between the physicality of her playing and the high, clear tone of her voice. Enmeshed with one another, it’s a display of an artist in full possession of herself and vision

Islands is preceded by Durant’s 2016 self-recorded album Blueberry Mountain released on New York label Flying Moonlight. Recording to tape in her apartment, the lo-fi quality and stripped-down arrangements led Durant to better understand the core layers of her music and from there where she wanted to go

Islands tracklist as follows…

  1. Rising Sun
  2. Highway Blue
  3. Sand Dunes
  4. Good Ol Night
  5. Take A Load Off
  6. Winterlude
  7. Islands
  8. Another Town


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.