New Release: Daughter – Music From Before The Storm / Burn It Down

Daughter at Paper Dress Vintage

Today, Daughter have unveiled a partnership with Square Enix®, publisher of video game franchises such as Final Fantasy® and Tomb Raider®, to create an original musical score for their highly anticipated new game Life Is Strange: Before The Storm. The entire soundtrack, entitled Music From Before The Storm was written and recorded by Daughter, and will be released digitally on September 1st

Listen to new song Burn It Down here…

Before The Storm is the prequel to Life Is Strange, the hugely successful BAFTA award-winning narrative driven game released in 2015. It was a boundary-breaking video game, with principal characters drawn from real life facing everyday issues, touching upon difficult situations such as bullying, suicide, teen pregnancy as well as tackling the complexities of love and friendship. The original game was celebrated for the strength of its music and Daughter’s involvement in the next instalment is a brilliant continuation in the franchise’s development

“We are so proud to have written the soundtrack for Life Is Strange: Before The Storm. It was our first experience working on an original soundtrack, and we are so honoured to have been given the opportunity to work with the team,” remarks Daughter’s Elena Tonra. “We loved the story on first read as it centres around realistic female lead characters who are emotional, intelligent, sensitive and badass in equal measure. I think the characters themselves have really inspired the soundscapes we have created. It was a pleasure to be involved”

“We wanted to have fun with this project so we made something we felt could be a soundtrack for the characters in the game themselves. It was also important for us to make sure this collection of songs and pieces of music stood on their own so we really went that extra mile. We hope players and non-players alike will equally enjoy it,” notes founding band member, Igor Haefeli

The tracklisting for Music From Before The Storm is as follows…

1. Glass
2. Burn It Down
3. Flaws
4. Hope
5. The Right Way Around
6. Witches
7. Departure
8. All I Wanted
9. I Can’t Live Here Anymore
10. Dreams Of William
11. Improve
12. Voices
13. A Hole In The Earth


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.