New Release: Cass McCombs – Estrella

Cass McCombs recently announced his ninth full-length album, Tip Of The Sphere, will be released 8th February 2019 on ANTI- Records

Today he has followed up with the second single to be taken from the album Estrella – the track presents a dreamy narrative, woven with McComb’s strength in storytelling and wonder of words, music, and dreams

Take a listen below…

Tip Of The Sphere follows 2016’s Mangy Love. McCombs took a different approach for recording Tip Of The Sphere than previous endeavours, instead recording swiftly and with a sense of purpose at Shahzad Ismaily’s Figure 8 studios in Brooklyn. As a result, a confidence emerged that heightens McComb’s sound – the rock songs have more fervour and the ballads are more beautiful; the sounds of jazz and Latin music creep in through the back window. Engineered by Sam Owens (aka Sam Evian), Tip Of The Sphere features the core band of McCombs (guitar, vocals), Dan Horne (co-producer, bass), Otto Hauser (drums) and Frank LoCrasto (piano, organ, and more), plus a range of guests

Last month, while in Utrecht playing the Le Guess Who? Festival, McCombs filmed performances of both his new singles Estrella and Sleeping Volcanoes with La Blogothèque at the Dutch National Railway Museum. Filmed in different rooms with alternate setups, the recordings feature McCombs on electric guitar backed by a simple but striking piano and upright bass accompaniment…

Tip Of The Sphere tracklist as follows…

  1. I Followed The River South To What
  2. The Great Pixley Train Robbery
  3. Estrella
  4. Absentee
  5. Real Life
  6. Sleeping Volcanoes
  7. Sidewalk Bop After Suicide
  8. Prayer For Another Day
  9. American Canyon Sutra
  10. Tying Up Loose Ends
  11. Rounder


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.