New Release: Bonny Light Horseman – The Roving

Bonny Light Horseman—the new trio of Anaïs Mitchell, Eric D. Johnson (Fruit Bats), and Josh Kaufman (Craig Finn, Josh Ritter, The National) – have released new single ‘The Roving’, taken from their self-titled debut album, due out January 24th.

Produced by Kaufman, Bonny Light Horseman finds the group reimagining traditional songs and in the case of ‘The Roving’: “These 500-year-old lyrics are so deeply applicable,” Johnson explains. “‘The Roving’ could be the plot of an ’80s teen movie: ‘I had a wild summer with this awesome girl then she broke my heart!’ How incredible is it that as humans we still just want to love and have sex and feel sad and fight?” Mitchell adds, “Everyone will recognize this story, where you detect the littlest flicker in your lover’s eye, and you know it’s the beginning of the end. We added a singalong chorus so everyone could bond about this!”

Take a listen below…

The timeless qualities of traditional tunes can carry us across oceans and eons, linking us not only to the past but to each other as well. It was under the banner of those eternal connections that the trio of Bonny Light Horseman came together. From Wisconsin festival fields and a German art hub to a snowy upstate studio and everywhere in between, the astral folk outfit is mixing the ancient, mystical medium of transatlantic traditional folk music with a contemporary, collective brush. The resulting album, Bonny Light Horseman, is an elusive kind of sonic event: a bottled blend of lightning and synergy that will excite fans of multiple genres, eras, and ages.

Bonny Light Horseman tour dates below…

29/01 – Glasgow, Old Fruitmarket
30/01 – Glasgow, Saint Luke’s
31/01 – London, Roundhouse
01/02 – London, The Lexington