New Release: Blitzen Trapper – Requiem

Photo Credit: Jason Quigley

Blitzen Trapper have shared “Requiem”, the fourth track unveiled from Holy Smokes Future Jokes, the new record out September 25th on Yep Roc Records.

A week before, on September 18th, Holy Smokes Future Jokes will be released on limited edition red, yellow & blue splatter vinyl exclusively at local record stores.

Of the track, frontman/lyricst Eric Earley notes, “A song about enduring love and, though not entirely apparent, a song about the earth as it rolls, or maybe more generally life itself, its capacity to weather large scale extinctions and climate shifts. A weird kind of love song with culty vibes to the endurance of sentience above and beyond mankind.”

Led by existential questions about life and death, Holy Smokes Future Jokes finds Earley ruminating on the intermediate period between a person’s separate lives on earth, “and what it means to escape the cycle of birth and rebirth,” he explains.

Recorded at Long Play Recording in Portland, OR, Holy Smokes Future Jokes takes the listener on a wild and dramatic journey through the Bardo, that transitional state between death and rebirth. With an inherent otherworldliness in the lyrics and imagery, the album’s ten songs take inspiration from several works, notably George Saunders’ 2017 ‘Lincoln in the Bardo’, which led to ‘Bardo Thodol’, more commonly known as the ‘Tibetan Book of the Dead’.

“I became obsessed with it, “Earley notes. “All the ideas contained in that book were speaking to me in a lot of different ways. The main theme that kept drawing me in when I was writing was what I call ‘cosmic humility,’ he adds. “It’s the idea that humanity is not the center of the universe or even the center of our own universe here on earth. We’re not the most important thing.”

Throughout Holy Smokes Future Jokes, he addresses these concepts by homing in on deeply personal and profoundly affecting stories from the album’s hypnotic fingerpicked opener, “Baptismal,” which recounts an oft-told tale from high school days about a drunk driving accident, to the briskly-strummed closer “Hazy Morning” that focuses on mental health in the all-too-common American tragedy of school shootings.

Produced and engineered by Raymond Richards, who also contributes upright bass/keys/pedal steel, Blitzen Trapper was joined in-studio by Michael Blake (keys), Luke Price (fiddle), Ben Latimer (saxophone), Heather Woods Broderick (backing vocals), and Haley Johnsen (backing vocals).

Holy Smokes Future Jokes tracklisting:

  1. Baptismal
  2. Bardo’s Light (Ouija, Ouija)
  3. Don’t Let Me Run
  4. Magical Thinking
  5. Masonic Temple Microdose #1
  6. Requiem
  7. Holy Smokes Future Jokes
  8. Sons and Unwed Mothers
  9. Dead Billie Jean
  10. Hazy Morning


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.