New Release: Ani Di Franco – Revolutionary Love

Singer/songwriter/feminist/activist/author DIY icon Ani Di Franco has announced her twenty-second album Revolutionary Love, set for release January 29th 2021 on her Righteous Babe Records label.

Revolutionary Love is Di Franco’s first studio album since her 2019 memoir ‘No Walls and the Recurring Dream’. Rooted in her poetic lyricism and ever-commanding vocal work, the album unfolds in an understated yet captivating alchemy of folk and soul and textured jazz-pop. The title track, a bold message of irrepressible hope, can be heard below…

Revolutionary Love (inspired by Valarie Kaur’s book ‘See No Stranger’) is a natural evolution for Di Franco, who has often seen her songs as reflections of not only her personal life but also society at large. With the current divisions and strife in our world, Di Franco sees Revolutionary Love as a vital next step. She says, “It’s about carrying the energy of love and compassion into the center of our social movements and making it the driving force. It’s about finding it within ourselves to stay curious about our opponents instead of shutting down.”

Di Franco wrote many of the new tracks on the road prior to returning home to New Orleans in February 2020. While the country soon encountered COVID and solitary lives, Di Franco felt the urgent need to collaborate creatively and record. With her activism at the forefront, she recalls, “I felt very strongly that I needed a horse to ride to try to help get out the vote—to get people inspired and get them believing in democracy, believing in each other and in themselves.”

Di Franco headed to Durham NC, where she teamed up with Brad Cook to record Revolutionary Love with an eclectic group of musicians. The lineup included percussionist Brevan Hampden (Hiss Golden Messenger, Milton Suggs), horn/flute player Matt Douglas (The Mountain Goats, Josh Ritter), keyboardist Phil Cook (Megafaun, Shouting Matches), drummer Yan Westerlund (Quetico, Mipso) and Di Franco’s longtime touring band Terence Higgins on percussion and Todd Sickafoose on bass.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.