New Band: Storm The Palace

Photo Credit: Greg Ryan

Imagine a band that takes the classic indie-folk of Kirsty McColl or The Decemberists, that veers between moments of Sleater Kinney-esque rage and Lynchian atmosphere, then adds the humour, geekinessand muso-complexity of They Might Be Giants. Now imagine that band performing profane songs about puppies and you have Storm the Palace.

Storm The Palace are an Edinburgh-based five piece featuring both home grown and far flung members from places like Madrid and Vermont. The line-up features singer, guitarist and principle song-writer Sophie Dodds; Willa Bews on bass, backing vocals, and apocryphal stories; Reuben Taylor (Meursault, Faith Elliot, James Yorkston) on accordion and other idiosyncratic key-based instruments; Jon Bews (Cantrip, Shooglenifty) on electric violin, backing vocals and a plethora of pedals; and Alberto Bravo (Goodbye Blue Monday) on drums.

Storm The Palace have toured in the UK, Ireland and the US, been played on BBC radio, and featured on blogs around the globe. Their first album Snow, Stars and Public Transport was released in 2017 to a wave of critical praise and was described by Scotland on Sunday as “one of the best albums of the year”. Delicious Monster is their second full length album, and is a leap into extroversion and irreverence for the group, pushing the sonic boundaries of their previous work.

The band state: “If our first album, Snow, Stars and Public Transport was about public space, then this one, broadly speaking, is about domestic space, and how the home can be both the best and worst place in the world.”

For more info, head to:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.