Live: Jim James Announces London Headline Show

Jim James has announced news of a solo show in January, performing at The Roundhouse as part of the In The Round series of intimate, seated shows. James’ appearance will be a career-spanning solo acoustic show – his first in this style – exploring songs stripped down, just voice and guitar

In addition to James, Nashville’ star Sam Palladio and Super Furry Animals’ front man Gruff Rhys are the latest acts confirmed to perform as part of the event

Devoted to intimate performances staged in a rarely seen fully-seated concert set up, In the Round has become known for its special, often exclusive sets from an eclectic range of artists. They will join an already genre-hopping cast that include the Portuguese fado artist, Ana Moura, modern soul vocalist Fatima, rock icon, Patti Smith, swinging jazz band The Hot Sardines, contemporary folk outfit This Is The Kit, legendary folk singer Shirley Collins and 60’s female hit sensations Ronnie Spector and The Ronettes

Check out the dates below…

Tuesday 22 January – Ana Moura
Wednesday 23 January – Fatima
Thursday 24 January – Gruff Rhys
Friday 25 January – An Evening of Words and Music with Patti Smith
Saturday 26 January – The Hot Sardines
Sunday 27 January – Ronnie Spector and the Ronettes
Monday 28 January – Sam Palladio
Tuesday 29 January – Jim James
Wednesday 30 January – This Is The Kit
Thursday 31 January – Shirley Collins

Jim James is best known as the lead singer, songwriter, producer and guitarist of My Morning Jacket. He has also lent his voice to albums by the likes of the Roots, David Lynch and John Fogerty and produced works by the Preservation Hall Jazz Band and Ray Lamontagne to name a few. He has also released four solo albums, including 2018’s Uniform Distortion. It was then followed, four months later, by a companion release Uniform Clarity, comprising acoustic renditions of the songs in a more stripped down and honest response to what went before